Our data

Where the facts come from, and how we show what we don't know.

Every fact in DentalGraph shows its source and date. Where we have no fact, we say why. This page lists every source, how much of the UK we hold, and the words we use for gaps, so you can check any figure on this site.

Sources

Every source, what we take from it, and when we last read it

SourceWhat we takeHow oftenLicenceLast read
The Care Quality Commission (CQC), England's care regulatorRegistered practices, addresses, registered owner, registration date, status, inspection result, the practice a new entry replacedEach register refreshOpen Government Licence22 Oct 2026
Healthcare Improvement Scotland (HIS), Healthcare Inspectorate Wales (HIW), the Regulation and Quality Improvement Authority (RQIA) for Northern IrelandRegistered practices, addresses, registration date, statusEach register refreshOpen Government Licence8 Oct 2026
Companies HouseCompany details, directors, controlling owners (Companies House calls them persons with significant control), registered company charges, new companies registered as dental practices or with a dental name, and the figures inside the accounts each company files — net assets, cash, creditors, the employee count and, where it is filed at all, turnoverDaily; the accounts monthlyCompanies House terms22 Oct 2026
The General Dental Council (GDC) registerRegistered dentists, specialist lists, registration numbersEach refreshGDC terms7 Oct 2026
Council planning portalsApplications mentioning dental use: change of use, extensions, new builds, signageDailyEach council's terms22 Oct 2026
Council planning registers (the application's own page)Who submitted each dental application: the agent (architect, surveyor or planning consultant) by name, firm, address, phone and email as the register publishes them, and the applicant's name when it is a business. Never a private applicant's detailsNightly, for the applications found that nightEach council's terms22 Oct 2026
Council building control registersBuilding regulations applications for dental work: the reference, the description of works, the site address, the dates deposited and decided, the status and the agent's name. Deposited when the work is about to startNightly, every council on the Idox system (about 200), the last three weeksEach council's terms22 Oct 2026
The Internet ArchiveThe earliest archived copy of each website, and the earliest copy that mentions implantsEach passInternet Archive terms9 Oct 2026
The practice's own websiteImplants, full-arch, sedation, implant brands, CBCT scanner (3D X-ray), intraoral scanner, prices, patient-finance providers, online booking, advertising tags, vacancies, team page, website platformRolling passes, most within 90 daysPublic web pages, read as published; we store the sentence we read9 Oct 2026
Dental Implants Local (our sister directory)Name, website, whether implants are offered, Google rating and review count, how many practices share the website, implant services named on the websiteCopied across; dated by the directory's own last updateOur own data6 Sep 2026
GoogleRating and review count, checked directly for West Yorkshire onlyOnceGoogle terms26 Aug 2026
NHS Jobs, BDJ Jobs, dentaljobs.co.ukVacancies matched to a practiceWeeklyPublic listings21 Oct 2026
The Office for National Statistics (ONS): Census 2021 (age, qualifications, tenure, general health, economic activity) and Census 2011 (population, for change since), small-area income estimates, the government's deprivation index, the postcode lookup; National Records of Scotland (mid-year population estimates, Census 2022)UK neighbourhoods (about 7,000 residents each; the statisticians call them middle layer super output areas, MSOAs): population, over-65s, median age, average household income, deprivation, degree share, home ownership, general health, unemployment, population change since 2011, and which postcode is in which neighbourhoodYearly (census tables are fixed until the next census)Open Government Licence22 Oct 2026
The Scottish Government: the Scottish Index of Multiple Deprivation 2020 and the Local Level Household Income Estimates 2018; National Records of Scotland: the Scottish Postcode DirectoryDeprivation and average household income for every Scottish neighbourhood. The deprivation index ranks Scotland against Scotland, so it is not the same index as the English or Welsh one; the income figure is for 2018, the most recent year Scotland publishes, brought up to the year to March 2023 by the ONS inflation index so it can sit beside the English and Welsh figures. The postcode directory is what turns 2011 data zones into the 2022 zones we useWhen the Scottish Government republishes either (deprivation last in 2020, income last in 2020)Open Government Licence22 Oct 2026
HM Land Registry: price paid data (England and Wales) and the UK House Price Index (Scotland)The middle price paid for a home in each neighbourhood and council area over the last 12 months (standard sales only, at least five); a Scottish neighbourhood carries its council's average from the indexMonthlyOpen Government Licence (contains HM Land Registry data, Crown copyright)22 Oct 2026
The US Census Bureau (the American Community Survey, 2024 five-year, and the 2019 five-year for change since)US ZIP areas (the census version of a ZIP code, a ZIP code tabulation area or ZCTA), counties and states: population, over-65s, median income, median age, home value, share with a degree, home ownership, health insurance, poverty, unemployment, median rent, population change since 2019YearlyPublic domain22 Oct 2026
The US Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)Dental health professional shortage areas, matched to ZIP areas, counties and states by the share of the area inside oneYearlyPublic domain22 Oct 2026
The federal provider registry (NPPES), published by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid ServicesUS dentists and the address each one registered, with the specialty they state; and US dental organisations given a number for the first time, which is the closest thing the United States has to a dated registrationDentists monthly; new organisations weeklyPublic domain20 Oct 2026
CMS Open PaymentsWhat implant, imaging and equipment makers declare they paid each US dentist — the manufacturer, the amount, the date and what the payment was forYearly, when the programme year is publishedPublic domain10 Sep 2026
Google’s Ads Transparency CentreWhether an advert for a practice was running when we looked, on which dates, how many adverts, and the words in them — matched by the practice’s own website domain, which Google itself confirms back to usRolling passes, United Kingdom and United StatesGoogle’s own public transparency pages, read as published; we store the advert’s own words and the link to its entry11 Oct 2026
Meta’s Ad LibraryThe same, for adverts running from the practice’s own Facebook pageRolling passes; Meta refused most of our lookups in the first national sweep, and where it did we print ‘we could not look’ rather than reporting no advertMeta’s own public ad library, read as published11 Oct 2026
Our own reading of the practice’s website (the website quality score)A score from 0 to 100 built only from things we had already read on the page — implant content, published prices, online booking, analytics and advertising tags, equipment named, ways to pay, contact details, the team named, an implant brand named. Nothing new is fetched for itRecomputed after each crawl passOur own calculation from the sources above22 Oct 2026
The public Google reviews panelThe words patients wrote, exactly as published, with the date label Google printed on each card, the star rating, whether the practice replied, and how many reviews Google said the practice had at that moment. We never store the reviewer’s name — only a salted hash, which tells two reviewers apart and identifies nobody. Google publishes no review date, only a label such as “7 months ago”, so we keep the label and the whole interval it admits rather than inventing a day inside itRolling passes, United Kingdom and United States; every attempt is recorded, so a practice nobody has opened reads ‘not read yet’ and never ‘0 reviews’Public web pages, read as published; the quote is reproduced exactly and never summarised17 Oct 2026
Our own comparison of two readings we already hold (movements)What moved at a practice, held as the difference between two dated readings of the same thing: a figure in a filing at Companies House against the comparative figure in the same filing, or an Internet Archive capture of a practice’s implants page against an earlier capture of the same site. Both readings are stored and printed, with the date of each and what that date is. Nothing new is fetched for it, and we publish no single momentum scoreMonthly, United Kingdom and United States, after the listing and website passes so a month of new readings is already inOur own calculation from the sources above, under their licences6 Oct 2026
The US Census Bureau’s metro delineation (July 2023) and the Office for National Statistics’ travel-to-work area lookup (2011)US metro and micro areas (whole counties grouped by commuting to an urban centre) and UK travel-to-work areas (the area inside which most residents both live and work), and which ZIP area or neighbourhood belongs to eachWhen either office republishes; the US delineation was last revised in 2023, the UK lookup is on the 2011 definitionPublic domain (US); Open Government Licence (UK)22 Oct 2026
What we take:
What we take from this source.
How often:
How often we read it. Every fact is dated individually.
Licence:
The licence we reuse it under.
Last read:
When we last read it successfully. 'Not read yet' means we have not.
Coverage

How much of the UK we hold, fact by fact

How many of the 13,370 UK practices we hold each fact for. The rest have not stated it, which is not the same as 'no'.

FactGroupSourcePracticesShareIf missing, we sayLast read
Where
PostcodeWherethe register or the listing13,367100%No postcode on record22 Oct 2026
Map locationWherethe register or the listing13,319100%No map location22 Oct 2026
Council areaWherethe postcode lookup12,04390%We could not place this postcode in a council area22 Oct 2026
NeighbourhoodWherethe postcode lookup12,88896%We could not place this postcode in an area22 Oct 2026
What they offer
Offers implantsWhat they offertheir website or the directory listing6,15646%Neither their website nor their listing says18 Oct 2026
Implant services (from the website)What they offerthe directory listing (Dental Implants Local)4,55034%not on their website6 Sep 2026
Full-archWhat they offertheir website4,76436%not on their website9 Oct 2026
SedationWhat they offertheir website4,43933%not on their website9 Oct 2026
Implant brandsWhat they offertheir website2,29917%No brand named on their website9 Oct 2026
Accepts implant referralsWhat they offertheir website1,42311%not on their website9 Oct 2026
NHS practiceWhat they offerthe NHS list or their website7,73158%Not on the NHS list and their website doesn't say22 Oct 2026
Equipment and website
CBCT scanner (3D X-ray)Equipment and websitetheir website2,55819%not on their website9 Oct 2026
Intraoral scannerEquipment and websitetheir website2,64020%not on their website9 Oct 2026
LaserEquipment and websitetheir website3072%not on their website9 Oct 2026
Online bookingEquipment and websitetheir website4,78136%No online booking found on their website9 Oct 2026
Website platformEquipment and websitetheir website7,35955%We could not tell what their website is built on9 Oct 2026
Facebook advertising tagEquipment and websitetheir website1,59612%No Facebook advertising tag on their website9 Oct 2026
Google Ads tagEquipment and websitetheir website1,67213%No Google Ads tag on their website9 Oct 2026
Website readEquipment and websitetheir website11,61687%We haven't read their website yet9 Oct 2026
HiringEquipment and websitetheir website1661%No careers page or vacancy on their website9 Oct 2026
Prices and payment
Single-implant pricePrices and paymenttheir website4,28032%No comparable price on their website9 Oct 2026
Single-implant price (as published)Prices and paymenttheir website4,56534%No implant price on their website9 Oct 2026
Full-arch price (per arch)Prices and paymenttheir website1,1038%No full-arch price on their website9 Oct 2026
Consultation feePrices and paymenttheir website4,36433%No consultation fee on their website9 Oct 2026
CBCT scan feePrices and paymenttheir website1,97115%No scan fee on their website9 Oct 2026
Patient financePrices and paymenttheir website4,45033%No finance provider named on their website9 Oct 2026
Membership planPrices and paymenttheir website4,14331%not on their website9 Oct 2026
Reviews
Google ratingReviewsGoogle, through the directory listing12,05190%No Google rating on their listing3 Oct 2026
Google reviewsReviewsGoogle, through the directory listing12,05190%No Google rating on their listing3 Oct 2026
Ownership
Registered ownerOwnershipthe care register11,37685%No owner or group on record22 Oct 2026
Company matchedOwnershipCompanies House7,82659%No company matched22 Oct 2026
Legal formOwnershipCompanies House10,42978%No company matched, so we don't know22 Oct 2026
Directors fetchedOwnershipCompanies House7,77358%not fetched yet22 Oct 2026
Controlling owners fetchedOwnershipCompanies House7,60857%not fetched yet22 Oct 2026
Registered company charges fetchedOwnershipCompanies House5,49141%Charge information not held22 Oct 2026
Net assets (filed accounts)OwnershipCompanies House5,48341%No filed accounts read for the matched company22 Oct 2026
Employees (filed accounts)OwnershipCompanies House5,28240%No filed accounts read for the matched company22 Oct 2026
Turnover (filed accounts)OwnershipCompanies House851%No turnover figure in their filed accounts; micro-entity and small-company accounts are a balance sheet only22 Oct 2026
People
People named at the practicePeopleteam pages, the directory and the GDC register3,24624%Nobody named at this practice yet7 Oct 2026
Implant-trained dentistsPeoplethe GDC register and their website9847%None of their dentists lists implant training7 Oct 2026
Team sizePeopletheir website6,17046%No team page on their website9 Oct 2026
Practice managerPeopletheir website1,80814%No practice manager named on their team page9 Oct 2026
History
Registered with the regulatorHistorythe care register11,05583%not on the register entry22 Oct 2026
Website first archivedHistorythe Internet Archive8,33862%No archived copy of their website found9 Oct 2026
Implants first mentioned onlineHistorythe Internet Archive5,29840%No archived copy of their website mentions implants9 Oct 2026
Local market
Population of the areaLocal marketOffice for National Statistics (National Records of Scotland for Scotland)12,88896%No population figure for the practice's area22 Oct 2026
Household income in the areaLocal marketOffice for National Statistics for England and Wales; the Scottish Government for Scotland12,88896%No income figure for the practice's area (none is published for Northern Ireland)22 Oct 2026
Median age in the areaLocal marketOffice for National Statistics (National Records of Scotland for Scotland)12,88896%No median age figure for the practice's area22 Oct 2026
Home value in the areaLocal marketHM Land Registry (UK House Price Index for Scotland)12,88896%No home price for the practice's area (too few sales in the last year, or Northern Ireland)22 Oct 2026
Degree or higher in the areaLocal marketOffice for National Statistics (National Records of Scotland for Scotland)12,88896%No education figure for the practice's area22 Oct 2026
Homes owner-occupied in the areaLocal marketOffice for National Statistics (National Records of Scotland for Scotland)12,88896%No home-ownership figure for the practice's area22 Oct 2026
Bad or very bad health in the areaLocal marketOffice for National Statistics (National Records of Scotland for Scotland)12,88896%No general-health figure for the practice's area22 Oct 2026
Unemployed in the areaLocal marketOffice for National Statistics (National Records of Scotland for Scotland)12,88896%No unemployment figure for the practice's area22 Oct 2026
Population change in the areaLocal marketOffice for National Statistics (National Records of Scotland for Scotland)12,88796%No earlier population count for the practice's area, so no change figure22 Oct 2026
Deprivation in the areaLocal marketeach country's own deprivation index (England 2019, Wales 2019, Scotland 2020)12,88896%No deprivation figure for the practice's area (no Northern Ireland index is loaded yet)22 Oct 2026
Calculated
Implant activityCalculatedcalculated by DentalGraph11,61687%no score12 Oct 2026
Record completenessCalculatedcalculated by DentalGraph11,61687%no score12 Oct 2026
Other countries (United States 96,933 · Canada 5,014 · Australia 1,887 · New Zealand 836 · South Africa 846 · Ireland 300) hold name, website, Google rating and review count, implant services from the website, and which practices share a website. For the United States we also read the practice’s own website (what it offers, implant brands, scanners, published prices, the insurance it accepts and the group it names), the dentists who gave the practice’s address to the federal provider registry, and what implant and equipment makers declare they pay those dentists. Register entries, owners, registered company charges, filed accounts and the dentists’ register come from UK sources and stay UK only; the product says so on every screen. Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and Ireland hold the listing only. The US also has ZIP-area figures.
Fact:
What we record
Group:
Where it sits on the practice page
Source:
Which source it comes from
Practices:
Practices for which we have this
Share:
Share of all UK practices
If missing, we say:
What the product says when this fact is missing
Last read:
When we last read it

Counted 22 Oct 2026. Out of 13,370 UK practices.

Local areas

Neighbourhoods and ZIP areas

UK: 8,598 neighbourhoods (about 7,000 residents each). England and Wales use the 2021 census; Scotland uses the 2024 population estimate on 2022 zones and its 2022 census for qualifications, tenure, health and work. Home prices are the middle price of standard sales in the 12 months to July 2026 (HM Land Registry, England and Wales; a Scottish neighbourhood carries its council’s average from the UK House Price Index). Northern Ireland has no neighbourhood geography in this build, so its council areas show practice counts but no population, no band and no score. Every figure on an area page is shown against the region it sits in and against every neighbourhood in the country, weighted by population.

Scotland’s income and deprivation figures come from Scottish sources, because the England and Wales ones stop at the border. Deprivation is the Scottish Index of Multiple Deprivation 2020, published by the Scottish Government on 28 January 2020. It is not the same index as the English or Welsh one. Each of the three ranks its own nation against itself, so a decile of 1 means ‘among the most deprived tenth of Scotland’, never ‘of the UK’; the same is true of an English decile and England, and a Welsh decile and Wales. Compare two Scottish neighbourhoods freely. Compare a Scottish one with an English one only as ‘top tenth of its own country’. Household income is the Scottish Government’s Local Level Household Income Estimates for 2018, published on 5 November 2020, which is the most recent year Scotland publishes. England and Wales carry the ONS estimate for the year to March 2023, five years later, so the Scottish figure is brought up to that year using the ONS CPIH inflation index before the two are ranked together. That is a price adjustment, not a new measurement, and each area page carries the 2018 figure it started from. Both Scottish figures are published for 2011 data zones and ours are 2022 intermediate zones, so each data zone is shared out across the zones its postcodes fall in, using the 2022 census counts as the weight.

US: 34,278 ZIP areas, plus every county and state, from the 2024 US census survey (and the 2019 survey for change since), with dental shortage areas from HRSA. About two thirds of populated ZIP areas hold no practice in our records; that is a real count, not a gap, and the band ‘No practices’ says so.

A UK neighbourhood carries an estimate of implant demand against supply within a 30-minute drive: Large oversupply, Oversupply, Balanced, Unmet demand or Large unmet demand. Demand is the residents aged 45 to 69 within the drive, counted at the national rate and weighted for local income. Supply is the practices offering implants within the drive, counted at 7 implants a month each. An estimate: each practice doing implants is counted at an average of 7 a month, because no practice publishes its figure. A major implant clinic may place five or six times that, or more. The cut-offs are printed on the filter. Drive times are held for England and Wales; a neighbourhood elsewhere in the UK reads ‘Not measured’. A count of practices inside a neighbourhood’s own boundary carries no label, because a boundary is not where people stop.

A US area is ranked against every other area of the same size by practices per 10,000 residents and placed in a band, with the cut-offs printed on the filter. ‘No practices’ means people live there and there is no practice. ‘Unknown’ means we have no population figure.

What every UK neighbourhood holds

FigureNeighbourhoodsShare
population8,598100%
over-65s8,598100%
household income8,598100%
median age8,598100%
median home value8,598100%
degree or higher8,598100%
homes owner-occupied8,598100%
unemployed8,598100%
population change8,597100%
bad or very bad health8,598100%
deprivation8,598100%
seen by an NHS dentistnot loaded yet

What every US ZIP area holds

FigureZIP areasShare
population33,64098%
over-65s33,64098%
household income30,42189%
median age32,68995%
median home value30,13388%
degree or higher32,96996%
homes owner-occupied32,68995%
median monthly rent25,62575%
unemployed32,67695%
population change32,50695%
below the poverty line32,74796%
no health insurance32,90696%
dental shortage area assessed33,77199%

Areas counted 22 Oct 2026. Cut-offs are practices per 10,000 residents, calculated 22 Oct 2026. Figures a country never holds (health insurance, poverty and shortage areas are US census and HRSA measures; general health and deprivation are UK ones) are not listed for it, and the product says so on every page.

Google ratings

Where the ratings come from

We hold a Google rating for 12,051 of 13,370 UK practices, mostly from our sister directory’s copy of the Google listing; we checked Google directly for West Yorkshire only. The date on a rating is when the directory last updated, which is the latest it could have been read. Where we have no listing the page says ‘not checked yet’. We don’t hold review text, so we don’t track what reviews say or how ratings move.

Counted 22 Oct 2026.

Advertising tags

A tag is a tag

A Facebook advertising tag or a Google Ads tag on a website tells us the tag is there, nothing more. We do not know whether the practice is running adverts or what it spends. The product labels these as tags.

Live adverts

An advert is not a tag

Separately from the tags, we look each practice up on the two advertising registers the platforms publish themselves — Google’s Ads Transparency Centre and Meta’s Ad Library. Where an advert is running we can show you which platform it is on, the platform’s own start and end dates, how many adverts, whether the words mention implants or offer finance, and one real sentence out of the advert itself. We never paraphrase an advert.

Three things this does not do, all of which the product says out loud rather than hiding. We do not know what anyone spends: neither register publishes it. Where an advert was found through a website or a Facebook page a practice shares with others, the advert belongs to the group and the row says so instead of crediting it to that practice. And where we could not look a practice up — Meta refused most of our lookups in the first national sweep — we print ‘we could not look’ and never ‘without an identified ad in the checked source’.

Website quality

Scoring a website, and refusing to score one we have not read

The website quality score is 0 to 100, from nine things we read on the page: what the site says about implants (16), whether prices are published (14), online booking (12), whether it is set up to measure its marketing (12), a scanner, 3D X-ray or lab equipment named (10), ways to pay (10), contact details on the page (10), the team named (10) and an implant brand named (6). Two of the nine only apply to a site that shows implant work. Every part prints with the score on the practice’s profile, with the date of the read it came from, so you can disagree with any of it by opening their website in a tab.

The weights are not an opinion about good websites. They are how far each sign separates one practice from another: a sign nearly every practice has cannot rank anything, and nor can one almost nobody has. And a website we have never read, or that did not load, or that answered with nothing we could grade, has no score at all — never 0. A 0 out of 100 reads as a verdict on the practice, and in all three of those cases what happened is that we did not read their site. The sentence saying which of the three it was is printed in the score’s place.

Metro areas

Two geographies built from commuting, and why we do not call them the same thing

In the United States a metro or micro area is the Census Bureau’s own definition: whole counties grouped by commuting to a shared urban centre. In the United Kingdom the closest real geography is the travel-to-work area, which the Office for National Statistics draws so that most residents both live and work inside it. Both are built from where people travel, which is why they sit together in the product — and they are not the same construction, so we never call a travel-to-work area a metro.

Neither sits on the ordinary ladder of sizes: 59 US metros cross a state line, and a UK travel-to-work area routinely spans several councils and more than one region, so neither has a parent to drill up into. Where a published table says which ZIP area belongs to which metro, we use it and say it is published. Where none exists — a UK neighbourhood can straddle a boundary — we place it in the area holding most of it, label it a best fit, and print the share behind the choice.

Gaps

How we show what we don't know

We printIt means
(the value)A source stated this. Click it to see the exact text, the page and the date.
noThe website or the register said no. Never printed for silence.
not on their website / not statedWe read the website on the date shown and it does not mention this.
not on the register entryThe register does not carry this field for this practice.
not checked yetWe have not read their website, or have not matched a Google listing, or have not checked the Internet Archive. The tooltip says which.
UK onlyWe don't collect this for the country you are looking at. The column is not shown; one line above the table says what is UK only.
oldChecked more than 90 days ago (longer for register entries and loans). The date is next to it.
not fetched yetWe know the company exists but have not fetched its directors and owners yet.
(a plain number) with "calculated" in the column helpWorked out from the figures we hold. Hover to see which.
matched by usWe linked this by rule. The tooltip names the rule and how sure we are.
we could not lookWe could not look this practice up on an advertising register — we hold no website domain for Google, or no Facebook page we could resolve for Meta. It is not evidence that they are without an identified ad in the checked source.
website not read yet / website wouldn’t load / nothing gradeable readThe three reasons a practice has no website quality score. None of them is a 0: a 0 out of 100 would be a verdict on their website, and what happened is that we did not read it.

‘UK only’ means we never look for it in that country. ‘Not checked yet’ means we would, and haven’t yet for this practice. We keep the two apart.

Models

Where a language model is used, and where it never is

No page you open calls a model. Every fact on this site is read by code from a register, a listing, an advert library or a practice’s own website, and carries where it was read and when. A model is used in four places, all in batch, all after the fact is read, all with a spend cap, and each answer is checked by code before it is stored: an answer that names a fact the code did not give it is thrown away.

  • Prices on fee pages. When a crawl stores a fee page, the page text goes to a small model in a batch to pick out the fees; each price is then checked against the page text and a plausible range before it is kept. Switched off for the monthly re-read of UK websites since 27 September 2026, so that run spends nothing.
  • Team pages the parser could not read. Names, roles and registration numbers are read by rules. Only when the rules find nobody on a team page does the page text go to a model, and its answer is kept only where the names appear on the page.
  • Which link is the fees or team page, when a website’s menu gives no clue. A one-line question, one link picked.
  • The fit verdict (implant reps, imaging reps, labs, marketing agencies): the model reads a numbered list of facts we already hold and says whether it sees an opportunity for that audience; the code keeps the verdict and the facts it cites, and prints those facts, never the model’s prose. Run once for a pilot of six postcode areas; a wider run is a separate decision, with its cost stated first.

The weekly implant grade, the website score, market share, key contacts, the market map and the new-sites ranking use no model at all. “Ask a question” reads your words with rules; a model can be switched on for that, and is not. Two other paid services, neither a model, run only on demand: a screenshot of a practice’s website, and search rankings for a town.

Old facts

When we call a fact old

After 90 days for most facts, six months for loans, 13 months for register entries and Google ratings, 18 months for first-seen and registration dates. Old facts stay visible and show their age. We never quietly keep an old fact as current.

Where we fall short

What we measured and did not like

What we measuredResultWhenHow
Whether council planning records warn us of a new practiceCaught 0 of 2027 Aug 202620 practices that opened in 2025; we looked for a planning application at least three months before registration. Detail on the new-practices page.
Whether our own company matches are right27 of 30 (90%)27 Aug 202630 cases where a new company was linked to an existing practice, checked by hand.

Things we cannot yet detect, so we claim no figure: 3D printers, milling machines, how common membership plans are, advertising activity, what reviews say, how ratings move, how many implants anyone places.

How to quote

Quote the number, what it's out of, and the date

How to quote
Figures on this site are totals counted from our records on the date shown, each with what it is out of. Quote the number, what it is out of, and the date; add the date you read the page. Do not quote a share as a market share: it is the share of practices whose website or register entry mentions something, and ‘not stated’ is not ‘no’. Do not quote a demand-and-supply word or a band as a measurement: they are calculated from other figures, and we publish what they are made from. Do not quote our practice count as the number of dental practices in the UK: we hold registered practices, some registrations are not practices, and some are labs.

Questions about the data

Why is the base for every fact all UK practices, not implant practices?

Because facts cover different sets of practices. A fact from a website can only exist for practices with a working website; a fact from a register exists for every registered practice. We never divide one by the other.

What does "share" mean here?

The share of practices for which we hold the fact. Not how common the thing is. A practice whose website says nothing is in the "not stated" remainder.

Can I check coverage in my territory before I sign up?

Yes. Use the contact page; tell us the territory and we reply with what we hold there and what we don't.

Are the only hand-checked figures the two above?

Yes. Everything else on this site is counted from our records on the date shown.

Do you hold patient information?

No. Nothing on this site or in the product is about patients.